Showing posts with label Windows Tips. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Windows Tips. Show all posts

Clear All Windows History Files Just by One Click

Clear All Windows History Files Just by 'One Click'


This tip will help you to manage the all types of user history in windows operating system. This is a built-in feature of all windows keeps track the user's history, for example the websites you have visited, the documents you have opened and the keywords or files for which you've searched. However this tip is very useful for you, if you are sharing your computer with others or you do not want that the other persons know about your last visited documents history. You can clear these kinds of user's history with a single click on desktop icon named Cleanmru.reg. There is no need to clear each history file one by one. This trick will work in nearly all of the windows versions like windows 2000, XP and 2003.
Follow the given steps for configuration to clear recently opened documents automatically:
To edit the computer registry, first you should log onto your computer with administrative rights.
Here copy the following 6 lines and paste in notepad then save with the name Cleanmru.reg on your desktop.


REGEDIT4
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\TypedURLs]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RunMRU]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RecentDocs]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\
LastVisitedMRU]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Search Assistant\ACMru]

When you double-click Cleanmru.reg icon to remove the windows history, a small dialog box will appear with the information "Are you sure you want to add the information in C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\desktop\Clearmru.reg to the registry?"



At the end, you will get the message "Information in C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\desktop\Clearmru.reg has been successfully entered into the registry." Click on Ok button and verify that your all history will have been clear.
For more Computer Tips, Please Visit: www.TechTipsPoint.com





Change Access Permission on Recycle Bin

Change Access Permission on Recycle Bin


Today day tip is very useful to manage the security of Recycle Bin properties because by default everyone can change the recycle bin sittings using windows default rights. If you want to restrict your users to modify these settings, simply edit the "Permissions for BitBucket" and set the read only rights for all users. Using windows registry editor you can set the Recycle Bin rights for all user.
The best technique to edit the windows registry, always backup the whole windows registry keys on backup drive before editing. Because any mistake in Registry can cause serious problem in your computer to run properly.

Follow the given steps to edit computer registry for Recycle Bin properties:
To enable this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
First click on Start button then type Regedit in Run option.



Here locate the location to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Explorer\BitBucket



Here in left side panel, right click on "BitBucket" keys and click on Permissions option.




Now "Permissions for Bitbucket" dialog box will appear to manage the user's rights.
Here select the user name or group "Everyone" from the list under the "Group or user names" category and then allow read only permissions for selected user under the "Permissions for everyone" section.


Now click on Apply button to save these settings and again click on Ok button to finish the process.
Close the registry editor and restart your computer after any changes to go into effect.
To verify these sittings, simply right click on Recycle bin and go to "Properties" dialog box and any changes here will give you a message "You do not have permission to modify the settings for the Recycle Bin".

 For more Computer Tips, Please Visit: www.TechTipsPoint.com



Change the Name of Recycle bin

Change the Name of Recycle bin

You can change the name of Recycle Bin of your system if you wish. It is very easy and interesting but it require some changes in windows registry,
  • First click on Start button > click on Run option.
  • Type here regedit.exe and press enter then you will find there regedit editor.
  • In regedit editor you will open HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT folder, In this folder open the CLSID folder then open the {645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E} folder >ShellFolder folder at last.
  • Here simply change the data value from "40 01 00 20" to "70 01 00 20".

After performing all above steps restart your computer then you will find option to rename Recycle name after right clicking on Recycle Bin Icon. Now you can change new name as you wish.

For more Computer Tips, Please Visit: www.TechTipsPoint.com

Increase Browsing & Download Speed in Vista

Increase Browsing & Download Speed in Vista

With windows Vista you have noticed the slow internet speed. The web browsing and downloading speed is very slow as compare to previous versions of windows. You can open the same sites in windows XP and server 2003 with the normal speed.
Follow the given steps to increase the Vista browsing speed:
First go to Advance tab in Internet Explorer and turn off the TLS (Transport Layer Security) encryption option. Here to fix problem with some secure pages turn on the SSL 2.0 (Secure Sockets Layer) feature and click Ok button to close it.


Follow the major fix for this problem:

In windows Vista, the TCP autotuning feature is enabled by default. Some web servers do not respond properly to this feature, so it appears that some sites open with very slow speed.
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
First click on Start button and type CMD in Run option then press Enter.
At Command Prompt, type the following command and press enter.
netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel= disabled
This command will disable the TCP autotuning feature. Now close the command Prompt and restart your computer after any changes to go into effect.
You can easily restore these setting by typing the following command at Command Prompt.
netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel= normal
Now close the command Prompt and again restart your computer after any changes to go into effect.
For more Computer Tips, Please Visit: www.TechTipsPoint.com